2013 In Review

I didn’t set many explicit goals in 2013.  However, that’s not to say I didn’t have many goals in mind.  In fact, I think the whole point of writing out a review of 2013 is to really set up what I want to do in 2014.  That’s a post for another day (as in, a week from now 🙂 ).  Instead, here’s the big things that happened in 2013.

Blogging – Success!
I started a personal finance blog!  Early in the year I was inspired by No More Harvard Debt to actually sit down and reflect on how I plan to get rid of my student loans.  Since, I’ve went from what I thought was living “paycheck to paycheck” while paying $650 a month to living “paycheck to paycheck” while paying $1000 a month.  That’s quite a spending change.  Blogging has held me accountable to my spending, even if what’s being written isn’t being read by many people.  At the end of the year, I’m averaging around 17 visitors a day.  Nothing huge, but still a start!

progress-barDebt Paydown: $5,000 – Success!
I set the goal of paying down my debt principal by $5000 since April.  I have surpassed that goal by $1,203.12!  A pretty big step towards my ambitious goal of knocking out 62k in 3 years and 9 months.  This initial goal wasn’t set too far out of reach, so while I was happy to hit it, I was more happy to clear it by a significant amount.

Read Books – Fail.
I don’t exactly remember if this was something I specifically set out to do.  But I always tell myself I should read more.  And I always fail.  Sigh.  Next year.

Drop 10 pounds – Fail.
I’m in fine shape, but as someone who considers themselves somewhat athletic (or previously athletic), I know I can drop 10 pounds.  I’ve been sitting between 175-180 for 3 years now.  I’d love to get back to under 170.  This would involve running more and eating better.  I hate running and I’m too lazy to make my own food, for the most part.  The good news is I know I can pull this off if I actually make it a goal.  So, I’ll make it a goal 🙂

Make $5k in additional income Success!
I pulled in nearly $5,500 in additional income in 2013.  The bulk of that was teaching an additional class on top of my normal course load.  While the additional income was nice, the extra class has been a grind and had a pretty negative impact on my work/life balance.  I won’t be doing it again.  Therefore, I’ll have to find ways to increase my additional income during the summer in 2014.

Take on More Responsibilities at Work – Pass.
Because of that extra class and the sports I coach, I was already putting in more hours than I probably should have been.  Taking on other committee work or adding a club sponsorship or something like that would have been too much.  Hopefully next year when I’m down to a normal teaching load I’ll be able to look at some options to get more involved.

It’s going to be a busy week on this here web-log!  Tomorrow I’ll be posting my 2014 goals and then on Thursday my “State of Paydown – 2014”.  Get excited!

Anyone out there have any big 2013 goals that they are celebrating successfully achieving?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2013 In Review

  1. ncreadergirl says:

    No real huge goals set & met – but my Book Review blog has gotten a huge number of hits recently and I’ve connected with some Publicists and Authors for Reviews! Financially we’re at a stand still – 2014 will bring changes there though!

Leave a Reply

