The Great Grocery Challenge (Pt. 2)

Previously: The Great Grocery Challenge (Pt. 1)

A week ago I received a 10% off everything coupon.  Wanting to make the most of it I was encouraged to make a plan to maximize my savings.  Rational, right?   The plan is simple.  Buy in bulk and take advantage of all the deals that I can find.  Well, it sounds simple.  I have to be careful to not go too crazy and also be careful to not spend for the sake of spending.  All those “deals” look appealing, but if you really don’t need something and you buy it because of the “savings,” then what have you saved?

First, I’ve made a list of all the sale items and all the coupons that I have gathered for items I would normally buy:

Coupons

coupons

Coupins?!

  • Halloween Candy: Buy $15, get $5 off
  • $0.50 off 1-2L of A&W10
  • $2.00 off 4 Hershey’s snack size candy (9-11.6oz)
  • Save $0.50 on one box of Honey Nut Cheerios
  • Save $1.00 on one IAMS bag dog food
  • Save $2.00 on any Bausch and Lomb multi-purpose contact soln 8oz. or higher
  • $1.50 off two Energizer Max multipacks (AA/A-8)
  • $0.50 off 1 large bowl of watermelon Chunks
  • $5.00 off 10 Stouffer’s Signature Classics
  • $1.00 off 2 Lysol Disinfecting Wipes
  • Save $2.00 on any three bags of Snickers, TWIX, M&Ms, Milky Way, 3Musk
  • Save $2.00 on any one Tide Detergent

Sale Items

  • 50% off Cottonelle Ultra or Clean Care Bath Tissue 6 Double Rolls (Limit 4)
  • 3 for $8 Hershey’s snack size Halloween candy
  • Pepsi 24-pack: 2 for $12
  • Lay’s Potato Chips 2 for $4
  • Charmin Bath Tissue 12 double roll bonus: $6.79
  • Michigan apples: $0.59 per pound
  • Lean Ground Beef $4.49 per pound
  • Hillshire Farm sliced lunchmeat $2.69
  • Buy Two Craft slices, get 1 Meijer loaf of bread for free
  • Chicken Breats $5.99
  • 17 oz. Honey Nut Cheerios: 4 for $10
  • Cheez-It 2 for $5
  • Frito-Lay Variety Pack: $5.99
  • IAMS: Buy two or more bags, get $5 off next purchase

The green items are the ones I want to make sure I hit.  The orange items are the “maybes.” 

The big thing to keep in mind here is that I still want to stay under my grocery budget for the month.  I have about $125 remaining in that budget.  $125 isn’t necessarily going to get me very far.  Even though I have certainly never spent anywhere close to $100 in one grocery shopping trip, I know that many people do and it is fairly routine.  Perfect example: If I decide to pick up two of the $25 bags of IAMS dog food, then that’s $50 right there.  It’s the right move to make and will be the cheapest I can get dog food until the next killer deal comes by, but it does take up 2/5 of my budget really quickly.

However it goes, I am actually a little excited.  Getting a plan in place gives me a sense of freedom and no reason to worry.  Sure, it’ll be a lot of money, but it is money that is strategically spent.  Knowing that, it might even be fun to drop a cool benjamin+.

We’ll see how it goes!  The thrilling conclusion will be posted on Wednesday!

This entry was posted in Consumerism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

