Using Credit Like a Boss: Adios Capital One!

As I’ve mentioned in the past, I have two credit cards: A Chase Freedom card and a CapitalOne Cash Rewards card.  The problem was the latter had a $40 annual fee.  Using a credit card with an annual fee?!?!?  Blasphemy, right?  At the time it was my first credit card and the only one I could get that offered any rewards.

capone1Now, I’m happy to say that I’m ready to close the CapitalOne account.  Conventional wisdom might be to not close it (for credit rating purposes), but since I don’t plan on buying a house any time soon and I do want to avoid another $40 charge, I see little reason to wait.

I applied for, and was approved on the spot, a PNC CashBuilder card.  The rewards are better, its linked up with my checking and savings, and most importantly: no annual fee!

Just another baby step to kicking debt’s ass.  Oh, and I certainly won’t miss the customer service (or lack of) from CapitalOne!

This entry was posted in Quick Savings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Using Credit Like a Boss: Adios Capital One!

  1. I am not a huge PNC fan. You’ll have to let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

