FPOTW: More Gasoline Stories

frugal-meijer-gasHow far are you willing to go to be frugal?  How much is your time really worth?

Yes, this is the second gasoline post for the Frugal Picture of the Week, but it comes with a story.

Yesterday I was on my way to the grocery store, which is about 1.5 miles from my apartment.  On the way I pass 2 gas stations.  My go-to station is the Speedway that’s on this route.  I have seen it as much as 40 cents cheaper than other gas stations in town on the same day!  Within the same hour!

So, when I saw $4.15 on that Speedway sign on my way to the gas station I did a double and triple take.  Daayyyyuuuuumm.  I was super glad I filled up two days prior for $3.74.  As I continued my commute the Kroger station was also sitting at $4.15.  I do not like the trend.

As I approach the Meijer where I get my groceries I had to do yet another double take.  Their gas?  $3.69.  Jackpot, right?  Well, there were people filling the place up and I had to make a decision: do I really need to stop and get gas?  I had just filled up two days earlier.  At best, I can put a gallon into my car.  I told myself.  Do I really want to wait 10-15 minutes to get 1 gallon of gasoline, even if it is 46 cents a gallon cheaper?  Hell yeah I do!  What am I going to do with that 10-15 minutes otherwise?  Probably sit at home and read an article on my computer.  I’ve definitely got 15 minutes to spare.

Holy smokes, though, do otherwise polite adults act like immature fools at a packed gas station.  Horn honking, people yelling at other people for boxing them in, general craziness.  Some old lady snuck into the pump I was waiting on while I let the previous customer out!  But, whatever, I decided I was going to keep my cool, unlike most people there.

I eventually got to a pump and ended up topping off at about 1.6 gallons.  Booyah!  That meant a savings of $0.74 – totally worth the effort.  And no kidding, by the time I left the grocery store about 25 minutes later, the station had joined the $4.15 club.  Not a bad use of 15 minutes, I’d say.

Previous FPOTW
Cheap Beer
Gasoline Shopping
Duct Tape Wallet

This entry was posted in FPOTW and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FPOTW: More Gasoline Stories

  1. Pingback: FPOTW: DD’ing | Teaching Down Debt

Leave a Reply

