Frugality Bullets

An excerpt from the last post at my teaching blog on my mission to destroy my debt. From now on, everything will live here! Exciting stuff, I tell ya.  I’ll probably cross-post content intended for TDD at that blog as well since I anticipate this journey will make its way into my classroom in some manner in the future.

  • I got a Speedway Rewards Card which saves me $0.03 a gallon at the specific station where I obtained said card. This is also the cheapest gas station in Ann Arbor that happens to be 1 mile from my place, on the way to the grocery store.  By cheapest, I mean that if I were to fill up on another side of town, I would pay up to 40 cents more per gallon!!! (Seriously, I’ve seen that difference in a 10 minute drive).  “Major win.”  Anticipated Savings: About $1 per month.
  • Commuting via bike to work twice this week saved me about 14 miles of city driving.  Nearly a gallon of gas.  Because of the unpredictability of weather, my initial hopes of 3 bike commutes per week might be a stretch. Putting it at two-a-week still yields some nice savings.  Anticipated Savings:$8.90 per month.
  • Secured a hotel roommate for upcoming wedding in Denver.  This one really is a major win.  Anticipated Savings: $230.

 

This entry was posted in Pre-TDD. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

